MONROE – Unofficial results from Tuesday’s night’s elections from the school board and the municipal governing body project that most of the incumbents will keep their seats.

Democratic incumbents Mayor Gerald Tamburro and council members Stephen Dalina and Miriam Cohen bested their Republican challengers.

For the school board, based on the results, challenger Kenneth Chiarella, who resigned from the board and withdrew from the race over the summer for health reasons and then later reentered the race, received the most votes followed by incumbent Michele Arminio.

However, incumbent Patricia Lang trails challenger Adi Nikitinsky, who is ahead by a little more than 100 votes as of 10:15 p.m.

The other candidates, appointed incumbent Louis Masters, Gail DiPane, and Corey Corbo trailed the leaders by a wide margin.

On the municipal council side, the race was also close, but the unofficial results suggest that the Democratic incumbents will keep their seats.

Dalina and Cohen each received 26 percent of the vote compared to Peter LoPresti and David Rothman at 24 and 25 percent respectively. Rothman trails Cohen by almost 290 votes.

For mayor, Tamburro received 7,382 ballots compared to Charles Dipierro’s 6,721 votes.

The results still have to be certified by the county, which will include any remaining absentee and mail-in ballots.

Connect with MonroeNow

Sign up to get news alerts and local happenings in your inbox. And follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more content.

Email: Find us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter


Christopher Lang is a freelance correspondent for MonroeNow. Previously he was part of The Record-USA Today Network and served as an editor for a decade at NJMG.