Some workers will receive a pay raise with New Jersey’s minimum wage officially increasing from $8.85 an hour to $10 today.
The increase, which went into effect on July 1, is part of the state’s five-year phase in of a $15 per hour minimum wage by 2024.
Tipped wages will also increase 50 cents an hour up to $2.63.
Legislators approved the wage increase earlier this year and Governor Murphy signed the bill.
However, the wage increase will not benefit small business with less than six employees, seasonal workers and, farmers. Those individuals will see a minimum pay increase in January.
Seasonal and small business workers will reach $15 in 2026. Farmers will reach $12.50 in 2024, and then state officials and the Legislature will determine if the annual increases should continue through 2027 to reach $15 per hour.
“Today marks a monumental step on our path to a stronger and fairer New Jersey,” said Governor Murphy in a statement. “Our economy grows when everyone can participate in it – every hardworking New Jerseyan deserves a fair wage that allow them to put food on the table and gas in their car. Together, we are making New Jersey more affordable and giving over a million New Jerseyans a pathway to the middle class.